Fair play rules.

A number of people on here often mention sanctions for breach of fair play rules. I have always believed them, and posted on here on numerous occasions, that they are a paper tiger.

If I were the type of shallow person who smugly enjoyed saying 'I told you so' I suppose I would comment that I see Manchester City's European ban has been overturned this morning. I admit it, I am shallow.

Told you so. :grin:

Re: Fair play rules.

Kairdiff Exile wrote:As someone posted on Twitter earlier, "punishable by fine" translates as "legal for those able to afford it".
Just because I'm a lawyer does not mean my opinion is any more valid than yours, but whilst I'm as cynical myself about this it's for a different reason.

As I see it this was a negotiated settlement. UEFA know that they will lose, Manchester City don't want the hassle and the 'fine' allows UEFA to save face.

Agree 100% with you guys.

My bigger gripe with the Champions League though is this.....

It's meant to be for CHAMPIONS only, the clue is in the name. So why are teams that finish 2nd to 5th allowed to enter? In my view, the CL should be for Liverpool only, the others can join the Europa League.

DeePeeNCAFC wrote:Agree 100% with you guys.

My bigger gripe with the Champions League though is this.....

It's meant to be for CHAMPIONS only, the clue is in the name. So why are teams that finish 2nd to 5th allowed to enter? In my view, the CL should be for Liverpool only, the others can join the Europa League.
But if it was for Liverpool only they'd have to play with themselves